At the end of myself…at the feet of Jesus

Matthew 25: 40, And the King shall answer and say unto them, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.

The Church’s Response to Domestic Violence (via Focus Ministries)

Leave a comment

Where were you when 911 happened? I recall working on a project and listening to the radio playing in the background. Suddenly all programs were interrupted with the announcement of an airplane hitting one of the twin towers in New York City. It was followed by another plane crashing into the other tower.

For the rest of the day, I sat memorized by the event being replayed over and over again. I was horrified as I watched people running out of fear as debris from the buildings filled the streets with a thick layer of gray matter. Many innocent lives were killed that day.

An eeriness encompassed me as I glanced out the window looking to the sky. I began to wonder if my area would be next for I live close to O’Hare Airport. There were no visible planes in the sky for days.

As I watched the news in the days that followed, everyone was in an uproar over the terrorists who had secretly invaded our country. People constantly talked about the injustice of it all.

Yet we are silent about the families who are experiencing terror every day as they are held captive by fear produced by the abuse they are experiencing. The destructiveness of their relationship is slowly killing the spirit within them. We call this domestic violence.

Statistics do not reflect those relationships where there is emotional abuse without the physical violence present. These victims of abuse are being oppressed by the terror within their home yet the church ignores the elephant in the room. We have tried to decorate it to the decor of the church hoping that its appearance will not be noticeable. I see the Lord raising up people to take a stand against the evil that is growing like cancer in our churches. Listen to what God has to say in His word.

“The Lord looked and was displeased to find that there was not justice. He was amazed to see that no one intervened to help the oppressed. So he himself stepped in to save them with his might power and justice.” Isaiah 59:15-16 NLT

To read in full, please go to http://www.focusministries1.org/blog/index.php/2010/06/the-churchs-response-to-domestic-violence/

Author: annagracewood

Slave of Christ. Reformed Baptist. Mama of many blessings. Homemaker. Homeschooler. Author. Blogger. I write about practical Christian living, womanhood, and domestic violence awareness (with a few other topics thrown in). Passionate about Christ's glory, my children, homemaking, writing, the church, helping those in abusive situations, reading, and animals. Lover of good coffee.

Leave a Reply

